The Crookston High School held its 12th Annual Triple-A Senior Recognition Night on Monday, April 27 online to honor their senior Student-Athletes in Academics, Arts and Athletics.
The presentation was sponsored by the Crookston Pirate Fine Arts Boosters, Crookston Kiwanis, Crookston Noon Day Lions and the Crookston Rotary Clubs.

Athletic Awards:

Outstanding Athlete of the Year:  This award is selected by the head coaches.  The award to a boy and a girl based on the following qualities:

  • Outstanding Athletic Ability
  • Multiple sport athlete
  • In Good Standing
  • Possesses Great Leadership Abilities
  • Is an excellent Role Model for our younger athletes and represents CHS & the Crookston Community in an exemplary way. 

Carla Johnson Female Athlete of the Year Award: Katherine Geist
Willis Eide Male Athlete of the Year Award: Leyton Salentine and Brady Butt

Senior Awards: This award is for outstanding dedication to Pirate Athletics.  This award represents the mission and the importance of our high school athletic program, and that is the importance of participation and being a multiple-sport athlete.  This award is not based on athletic accomplishment, nor is it voted on, but on being a part of a team in each of the sports seasons from 9th through 12th grade: Brady Butt, Leyton Salentine, Caden Osborn, Ben Andringa, Kasey Cwikla, Joe Doda, Ty Hamre, Quinn Westlake, Dani Boyle, Joseph Ramirez, Audrey Harbott, Jade Selzler, Allie Love.

June Shaver Memorial Student-Athlete Scholarship – Kasey Cwikla, Eliza Meyer, Jasmin Hanson, Katherine Geist

Sam Moscatelli Outstanding Service to Pirate Athletics Award:
This award goes to a student who has exemplified the managerial service that Sam bestowed to Pirate Athletics: Heather Visness 

Paul Wold Memorial Award
This is the sixth year of the award.  Paul Wold was a lifelong insulin-dependent diabetic, who found an outlet for his adversity through school sports, activities and organizations.
This year’s recipient of the Paul Wold Memorial Award is Allie Love

Donnie Lauf Memorial Softball Award:
This award goes to a softball player who throughout the course of her career has exhibited the will, competitive spirit and the love that Donnie exhibited throughout her life: Jasmin Hanson 

Lions Award of Excellence:
Excellence in Athletics – Brady Butt, Joe Doda, Leyton Salentine, Quinn Westlake, Walker Winjum, Ty Hamre, Dani Boyle, Kasey Cwikla, Katherine Geist
Excellence in Hockey – Ben Andringa
Excellence in Softball – Jasmin Hanson
Excellence in Basketball – Caden Osborn
Excellence in Clay Target – Jade Selzler
Lions Award for Athletic Booster of the Year:  RBJ’s Restaurant – Kim Samuelson
Lions Fan of the Year:  Jennifer and Dennis Tate
Lions Coach of the Year – Wayne Folkers and Amy Boll

Team Academic Awards –
Volleyball – Gold Award(3.75 – 4.0 GPA)
Girls Basketball – Gold Award
Wrestling – Silver Award (3.34 GPA)